Home > 2016 National Winners Announced

2016 National Winners Announced


Australian Family Early Education and Care Awards Announces

Australian Service, Director, Educator of the Year and Rising Star


The nation’s leaders in early education and care have been announced at Friday night’s Australian Family Early Education and Care Awards Gala held at Sydney’s Shangri-La Hotel, hosted by Jean Kittson. 

MyLife MySuper Early Childhood Service of the Year:  The Joey Club Brisbane

Nestle NAN Toddler Early Childhood Director of the Year: Josique Lynch

Springfree Trampoline Early Childhood Educator of the Year: Yuki Takahashi-Braybrook

Educational Experience Rising Star Award: Benjamin Kikkert

The Gala event was attended by over 200 professionals from the early years’ education and care sector and Senator Sarah Hanson-Young. 

The four National Winners will share in over $75,000 in prizes including $40,000 in training and professional grants.  This year’s winners were selected from 18 State Winners and were required to meet with the Awards’ judging panel to demonstrate their commitment to professional practice, ongoing quality improvement and innovation.    

As the preeminent awards for early years’ education and care including long day care (private and community), family day care, occasional care, preschool, early learning centres and school age care groups, the Australian Family Early Education and Care Awards is now in its 12th year of celebrating the dedication, tireless work and passion of the outstanding leaders and services within the sector. 

The Awards are overseen by Judging Chairman and Australian Family Managing Director, Paul Clancy and he is assisted by Editor of Australian Family magazine and university teacher-educator, Jennifer Kernahan.

“Without a doubt we have some of the world’s best in early years education and care right here in Australia.  Each year we continue to see professionals in this sector demonstrating at an incredibly high level their professionalism, commitment to improvement and dedication to innovation.  On behalf of the judging panel I congratulate each of this year’s National Winners and applaud their contribution and passion for the early years’ education and care sector.  I also acknowledge all of this year’s state winners, finalists and nominees as well as the community that has taken the time to place their nominations,” said Australian Family Managing Director and Judging Chairman, Paul Clancy. 

This year over 1200 nominations were received from across Australia and from this talented pool over 100 finalists were selected.  Each finalist was reviewed by the judging panel consisting of professionals in the early childhood sector to reveal the 18 State Winners that demonstrated their achievements in practice and commitment to five key areas aligned with the National Quality Standards* including improvements to children’s wellbeing, programming, the early childhood service, ongoing professional learning and development, and family/community relationships. 

*The federal government-mandated professional standards for children’s services) regulated by the Australian Children’s Education and Care Authority (ACECQA).

Review all the 2016 Award Winners here